Wellington Masters Athletics
Membership News Events Calendar Results Records Awards Contacts Links Master Copy

North Island Masters Track & Field

The North Island Masters Track & Field Championships are held every year. They are usually held in mid to late November or occasionally in early December (exceptions noted below). They were first held in 1986, five years after the South Island equivalent was founded and eleven years after the first New Zealand Masters Track and Field Championships. Hosting rotates between the seven centres of the North Island.

Unlike the winter harrier events, Athletics New Zealand championships do not provide for masters. The first Athletics New Zealand North Island Track & Field Championships were held in Palmerston North in 2014. Masters were welcome to enter but had to compete in the senior grades, in practical terms limiting masters to the youngest and more talented athletes.

The North Island Masters Track & Field Championships are open to entry for all members with no qualifying performance thresholds.

With the North Island Champs taking place relatively early in the track season, the level of competition is relatively relaxed in comparison to Nationals. As with all masters championships, there is a high level of camaraderie.

From 2014, a standard programme was trialled and adopted. The 3000m has been moved from being the last event to being one of the first. To accommodate the change, the 5000m has moved to Sunday morning and the 10km Road Run removed. The 10km Road Walk was dropped in 2015, temporarily replaced with a 10000mW and in 2016 a 5000m Track Walk was held for the first time in six years.

Those championships known to have taken place on grass tracks are marked [G].

Standard Championship Events

60m 100m 200m 400m
Middle & Distance
800m 1500m 3000m 5000m 10000m
Road Running (retired events)
5km Road 10km Road
Short Hurdles Long Hurdles Steeples


3000m Track 5000m Track 10000m Track 5km Road 10km Road


Long High Triple Pole Vault
Shot Put Javelin Discus Hammer Weight
Combined Events
Pentathlon Throws Pentathlon


# Year Host Centre Location Photos
38 2023 Manawatu / Wanganui Palmerston North  
37 2022
Wellington Masterton  
36 2021 not held due to COVID
35 2020 not held due to COVID
34 2019 Waikato / Bay of Plenty Whakatane [G]

D1 track
D1 field
D2 track
D2 field
D3 track
D3 field

33 2018 Wellington Wellington

D1 D2 D3

32 2017 Taranaki Inglewood  
31 2016 Manawatu / Wanganui Palmerston North  
30 2015 Auckland Auckland  
29 2014 Hawke's Bay / Gisborne Hastings D1 D2 D3
28 2013 Northland Whangarei D1 D2 D3
27 2012 Waikato / Bay of Plenty Hamilton  
26 2011 Wellington Wellington  
25 2010 Taranaki Inglewood  
24 2009 Manawatu / Wanganui Palmerston North  
23 2008 Auckland Auckland  
22 2007 Taranaki Inglewood  
21 2006 Waikato / Bay of Plenty Whakatane [G]  
20 2005 Wellington Wellington  
19 2004 Northland Whangarei [G]  
18 2003 Hawke's Bay / Gisborne Hastings  
17 2002 Manawatu / Wanganui Palmerston North  
16 2001 Auckland Pakuranga [G]  
15 2000 Taranaki Inglewood  
14 1999 Waikato / Bay of Plenty Tauranga [G]  
13 1998 Wellington Wellington  
12 1997
Auckland Papakura  
11 1996 Northland Whangarei [G]  
10 1995
Hawke's Bay / Gisborne Gisborne [G]  
9 1994 Auckland Pakuranga [G]  
8 1993 Manawatu / Wanganui Feilding [G]  
7 1992 Manawatu / Wanganui Wanganui [G]  
6 1991 Waikato / Bay of Plenty Tauranga [G]  
5 1990 Taranaki New Plymouth [G]  
4 1989 Hawke's Bay / Gisborne Napier [G]  
3 1988 Northland Whangarei [G]  
2 1987 Wellington Masterton [G]  
1 1986 Waikato / Bay of Plenty Hamilton  


 Contact Us

  Last Updated 22 December 2023